Return to Home Page
New Mexico Commission of Public Records - State Records Center and Archives

Notice of Right to Inspect Public Records

Under the Inspection of Public Records Act, every person has the right to inspect the public records of the New Mexico Commission of Public Records. Requests to inspect public records should be addressed to the records custodian:

Linda Trujillo, Director
New Mexico Commission of Public Records
1205 Camino Carlos Rey
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87507
Phone: (505) 476-7902
Fax number: (505) 476-7901
E-mail address: LindaM.Trujillo@state.nm.us

REQUESTING INSPECTION OF PUBLIC RECORDS
A person desiring to inspect public records may submit a request to the records custodian orally or in writing. All requests must describe the records sought in sufficient detail to enable the records custodian to identify and locate the requested records. A written request must contain the name, address and telephone number of the person making the request.

Inspection of public records is allowed during regular business hours, 8:00 A.M. to 12:00 Noon and 1:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday - except legal holidays.

Non-routine requests are those that require extensive research. Requestors shall be notified of the date that the request may be satisfied within three business days of receiving the request.

Routine requests to inspect records shall be addressed within fifteen calendar days of receiving the request.

Denied requests. If any of the records sought are not available for public inspection (exempted under the Inspection of Public Records Act), the records custodian shall notify the requestor of the reasons inspection has been denied. The written denial shall be delivered or mailed within fifteen (15) calendar days after the records custodian received the request for inspection.

REQUESTING COPIES OF PUBLIC RECORDS
The Commission of Public Records has adopted reasonable fees, (see its regulation 1.13.2 NMAC) which may be charged for copies of public records requested pursuant to a request to inspect public records. The full regulation is available upon request or may be viewed on the agency's web site at http://www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/nmac. In part, photocopy fees are:

Paper photocopies
(1) 8 ½ x 11 (1 to 99 copies) - $0.25
(2) 8 ½ x 11 (100 to 499 copies) - $0.40
(3) 8 ½ x 11 (500 or more copies) - $0.55
(4) 8 ½ x 14 (1 to 99 copies) - $0.30
(5) 8 ½ x 14 (100 to 499 copies) - $0.45
(6) 8 ½ x 14 (500 or more copies) - $0.60
(7) 11 x 17 (1 to 99 copies) - $0.35
(8) 11 x 17 (100 to 499 copies) - $0.50
(9) 11 x 17 (500 or more copies) - $0.65

Self-service photocopies (made by patron).
(1) 8 ½ x 11 - $0.10
(2) 8 ½ x 14 - $0.10
(3) 11 x 17 – $0.15

Oversized maps and drawings.
(1) 12 x 18 - $3.35
(2) 17 x 22 - $3.40
(3) 18 x 24 - $3.35
(4) 22 x 34 - $3.40
(5) 24 x 36 - $3.45
(6) 30 x 42 - $3.50
(7) 32 x 44 - $3.90
(8) 36 x 48 - $4.10
(9) Sizes greater than 36 x 48 add $1.00 per foot to $4.10.

Fax copies - $0.60

 

 
Copyright © 2005 State of New Mexico - Commission of Public Records ~ State Records Center and Archives
All Rights Reserved